Video: USC freshman Tuileta discusses win vs. No. 12 Stanford

It didn’t take long for the reigning Volleyball Magazine High School Player of the Year to have a big offensive performance at the college level.

Freshman outside attacker Larry Tuileta had a team-high nine kills and added five digs to help No. 5 USC sweep No. 12 Stanford on Monday in Los Angeles. Continue reading

Video: No. 5 USC overpowers No. 12 Stanford in sweep

Middle attacker Robert Feathers had a team-high nine kills and four blocks as No. 5 USC swept No. 12 Stanford 25-16, 27-25, 25-19 on Monday in Los Angeles to remain undefeated in the MPSF.

USC in the home conference victory out-hit Stanford .371 to .165, including having a .560 attack percentage in the opening game. In addition, Feathers was one of three Trojans to finish the match with nine kills. Continue reading

Quick hits: 5 things to take away from the weekend in college men’s volleyball

Another chaotic weekend is finished that featured four of the top 10 nationally ranked team losing matches.

Check out the five things to take away from this weekend’s college men’s volleyball matches. Continue reading

Top college men’s volleyball matches to follow tonight

Almost every possible type of marquee match-up is set to take place tonight.

Three matches that feature both teams in the top 10 of the nationally rankings highlight the start to the weekend in the MSPF. In addition, the newest non-conference event, the Off the Block East vs. Midwest Challenge, opens with IPFW playing host to St. Francis. Continue reading

Top college men’s volleyball matches to follow tonight

Teams from MIVA have defeated the MPSF on back-to-back nights, but if that streak is to continue Grand Canyon will have pull off its biggest upsets in program history.

No. 7 USC traveling to play Grand Canyon highlights tonight’s slate of match. In addition, out on the West Coast emerging NCAA Division II program Concordia-Irvine will play host to UC San Diego. Continue reading

Bracketology: Who could benefit the most from this week’s matches

Don’t be fooled by the calendar — the match results from this second week of the season could have huge ramifications on the outcome of Selection Saturday in May.

With the selection committee placing an emphasis in the off-season on teams scheduling more non-conference matches, this week will be feature the most non-conference matches at any point during the entire season. Continue reading

Pepperdine shatters conference record in MPSF preseason poll

Pepperdine will enter the upcoming season as an unprecedented overwhelming favorite to win its first MPSF championship since 2007.

The Waves in the MPSF preseason coaches poll released Thursday received all but one first-place vote and set the conference record for largest point margin between the top two teams.

Continue reading

2015 Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Preseason All-American Teams released

A nationwide voting committee selected 22 players to the annual Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Preseason All-American Teams.

The Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Preseason All-American Teams recognizes the NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball players projected to be the best in the nation during the upcoming season. Continue reading