Tournament field unveiled for OTB, Frisco Mo National Player of Year

Photo courtesy of Hawai’i athletics

The bracket has been finalized for the annual Off the Block/Frisco Mo Fan Choice National Player of the Year tournament.

The Off the Block/Frisco Mo Fan Choice National Player of the Year recognizes the best individual performances from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball players during the season and gives volleyball fans from around the world the chance to determine who was the best player.

This annual contest is a bracket-style, six-round tournament pairing the nation’s best players against each other. In addition, the winner for each match-up is determined through online voting on the Off the Block website.

The tournament begins with the first-round matches on Tuesday and Wednesday.

The voting for the first and second rounds will last one day with the online polls closing at 10 p.m. (CST). The voting period will be two days for the regional semifinals and regional finals.

The four players who win the regional championship will advance to the championship round with voting taking place on June 2-3.


An individual will be allowed to vote only one time per hour for each match during the tournament.

Several volleyball organizations give a National Player of the Year award at the end of each season. However, the Fan Choice Player of the Year is the only player of the year award solely determined by the fans.

Off the Block selected and seeded the tournament field using several factors, including a player’s performance during the season, all-conference and All-American honors, level of competition played throughout the season and how the player’s team fared.

Players selected to the tournament were placed into four regions.

Off the Block named each region after a member of the U.S. Men’s National Team in celebration of the 2021 Olympics. The four regions are the Matt Anderson Region, the Jeff Jendryk Region, the Micah Christenson Region, the TJ DeFalco Region.

This is the 10th year of the Fan Choice Player of the Year. Previous winners are Loyola outside attacker Mike Bunting in 2011, Ball State middle attacker Matt Leske in 2012, Fort Wayne outside attacker Eddie Rivera in 2013, BYU outside attacker Taylor Sander in 2014, Coker opposite Artur Cabral in 2015 and Pepperdine outside attacker David Wieczorek in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Below is a schedule of the tournament and the tournament field.

Tournament schedule

Tuesday, May 25: First round for Matt Anderson Region and Jeff Jendryk Region
Wednesday, May 26: First round for Micah Christenson Region and TJ DeFalco Region
Thursday, May 27: Second round for Matt Anderson Region and Jeff Jendryk Region
Friday, May 28: Second round for Micah Christenson Region and TJ DeFalco Region
Saturday, May 29 to Sunday, May 30: Regional semifinals
Monday, May 31 to Tuesday, June 1: Regional finals
Wednesday, June 2 to Thursday, June 3: Championship round
*Polls close at 10 p.m. (CST) for every round


No. 1 seed Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i
No. 2 seed Wil Stanley, BYU
No. 3 seed Randy DeWeese, UC Santa Barbara
No. 4 seed Keenan Sanders, UC Santa Barbara
No. 5 seed Brett Wildman, Penn State
No. 6 seed Bryce Dvorak, Pepperdine
No. 7 seed Raymond Barsemian, Concordia-Irvine
No. 8 seed Cole Ketrzynski, UCLA
No. 9 seed Matteo Miselli, Belmont Abbey
No. 10 seed Hayden Wagner, George Mason
No. 11 seed Spencer Olivier, Long Beach State
No. 12 seed Billy Fauntleroy, USC
No. 13 seed Pelegrin Vargas, Purdue Fort Wayne
No. 14 seed Don Thompson, Emmanuel
No. 15 seed Luke Denton, Loyola
No. 16 seed Vicente Ibarra, Purdue Fort Wayne


No. 1 seed Ryan Coenen, Lewis
No. 2 seed Gage Worsley, Hawai’i
No. 3 seed Cole Bogner, Penn State
No. 4 seed Tobi Azeez, Mount Olive
No. 5 seed Alvaro Gimeno, NJIT
No. 6 seed Jakob Thelle, Hawai’i
No. 7 seed Jackson Gilbert, North Greenville
No. 8 seed Mason Briggs, Long Beach State
No. 9 seed JP Payne, Queens
No. 10 seed Cole Schlothauer, Loyola
No. 11 seed Luca Berger, NJIT
No. 12 seed Justin Sharfenaker, Lincoln Memorial
No. 13 seed Quinn Isaacson, Ball State
No. 14 seed Luke Visgitis, Mount Olive
No. 15 seed Pedro Carvalho, Lincoln Memorial
No. 16 seed Jon Igo, Limestone


No. 1 seed Gabi Garcia Fernandez, BYU
No. 2 seed Tyler Mitchem, Lewis
No. 3 seed Austin Wilmot, Pepperdine
No. 4 seed Kevin Kauling, Lewis
No. 5 seed Roy McFarland, UC Santa Barbara
No. 6 seed Sotiris Siapanis, Ohio State
No. 7 seed Camden Gianni, Grand Canyon
No. 8 seed Sam Kobrine, UCLA
No. 9 seed Daniel Wetter, CSUN
No. 10 seed Brennan Davis, Belmont Abbey
No. 11 seed Merrick McHenry, UCLA
No. 12 seed Michal Podgorzak, Limestone
No. 13 seed Felipe de Brito Ferreira, BYU
No. 14 seed TJ Murray, Lewis
No. 15 seed Michael Fisher, Saint Francis
No. 16 seed Zach Schneider, Daemen


No. 1 seed Casey McGarry, UC Santa Barbara
No. 2 seed Patrick Gasman, Hawai’i
No. 3 seed Davide Gardini, BYU
No. 4 seed Cal Fisher, Penn State
No. 5 seed Colton Cowell, Hawai’i
No. 6 seed Spencer Wickens, Pepperdine
No. 7 seed Simon Andersen, Long Beach State
No. 8 seed Lucas Galifos, McKendree
No. 9 seed Garrett Zolg, Loyola
No. 10 seed Joshua Kim, King
No. 11 seed Kyle McCauley, UC San Diego
No. 12 seed Joel Schneidmiller, UC Irvine
No. 13 seed Adrian Iglesias, Barton
No. 14 seed Ryan Serrano, McKendree
No. 15 seed Brad Creamer, George Mason
No. 16 seed Noah Melendez, King