Lewis outside Coenen repeats as MIVA Player of Year

Photo courtesy of Lewis athletics

Outside attacker Ryan Coenen further cemented his legacy as one of the greatest players in the 60-year history of the MIVA.

The conference announced Friday that the Lewis senior for the second consecutive year was selected as the MIVA Player of the Year.

Coenen is now the 11th player in the conference’s history, and the second Flyer, to win multiple MIVA Player of the Year honors during their college career.

The outside attacker ended the regular season leading the MIVA and second in the nation with a 4.51 kills per game average on a career-best .339 attack percentage as he led Lewis to the conference regular season title. He also had at least 20 kills in five matches, including a season-high 25 kills in a five-game victory against Loyola last week.


Along with his offensive performance, Coenen recorded more than 100 digs for his fifth consecutive season and was in the conference’s top 15 averaging 0.81 blocks per game.

McKendree and Ohio State earned other top two individual awards that the MIVA unveiled on Friday.

Ohio State freshman outside attacker Sotiris Siapanis was named the MIVA Newcomer of the Year. In addition, Nickie Sanlin was selected as the MIVA Coach of the Year after guiding McKendree to its highest national ranking in program history and the No. 3 seed in the MIVA Tournament.

Lewis led all schools with five players earning All-MIVA honors. McKendree and Ball State each also had four players named to the All-MIVA Team.

MIVA Individual Awards

MIVA Player of the Year: Ryan Coenen, Lewis
MIVA Newcomer of the Year: Sotiris Siapanis, Ohio State
MIVA Coach of the Year: Nickie Sanlin, McKendree

First-Team All-MIVA

Setter: Quinn Isaacson, Ball State
Setter: Kevin Kauling, Lewis
Setter: Ryan Serrano, McKendree
Setter: Garrett Zolg, Loyola
Opposite: Luke Denton, Loyola
Outside attacker: Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Outside attacker: Kaleb Jenness, Ball State
Outside attacker: Cole Schlothauer, Loyola
Outside attacker: Sotiris Siapanis, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Pelegrin Vargas, Purdue Fort Wayne
Middle attacker: Tyler Mitchem, Lewis
Libero: Troy Gooch, Purdue Fort Wayne

Second-Team All-MIVA Second Team

Opposite: Blake Reardon, Ball State
Opposite: Zach Schnittker, McKendree
Outside attacker: Kyle Bugee, Lewis
Outside attacker: Vicente Ibarra, Purdue Fort Wayne
Outside attacker: Martin Lallemand, Ohio State
Outside attacker: AJ Lewis, Lindenwood
Outside attacker: Diego Negron, Lindenwood
Outside attacker: Patrick Ross, McKendree
Middle attacker: Felix Egharevba, Ball State
Middle attacker: Lucas Galifos, McKendree
Middle attacker: TJ Murray, Lewis
Libero: Noam Hannoun, Quincy