By the Numbers: Best college men’s volleyball player to wear No. 19 jersey

Photo courtesy of Pepperdine athletics and Martin A. Folb

It’s all about the numbers — particularly the number on the jersey.

Off the Block is unveiling the best player to wear each jersey number in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the 25-point rally scoring era.

The latest installment in this summer series examines the best to don the No. 19 jersey. Check out Off the Block throughout June as it continues to reveal the best in the sport to wear each number.


Best player to wear No. 19
David Wieczorek, Pepperdine (2016-19)

Awards and honors: Second-Team All-Decade, 2016 Freshman All-American Team, 2016 Second-Team All-MPSF, 2016 All-MPSF Freshman Team, 2016 Fan Choice National Player of the Year, 2017 All-American Honorable Mention, 2017 First-Team All-MPSF, 2017 Fan Choice National Player of the Year, 2018 Karch Kiraly Award finalist, 2018 National Server of the Year finalist 2018 Second-Team All-American, 2018 MPSF Player of the Year, 2018 First-Team All-MPSF, 2018 Fan Choice National Player of the Year, 2019 MPSF Player of the Year, 2019 Karch Kiraly Award finalist, 2019 First-Team All-American, 2019 First-Team All-MPSF, 2019 MPSF Tournament Most Valuable Player, 2019 Fan Choice National Player of the Year
Player bio: Wieczorek finished his senior season ninth in the nation with a 3.86 kills per game average on a career-best .371 attack percentage as the Waves won the MPSF championship and advanced to the NCAA Tournament semifinals.The two-time MPSF Player of the Year had 1,300 career kills and hit more than .300 in each of his four seasons with the Waves. Wieczorek finished in the nation’s top 10 for kills in three consecutive seasons, including being third in the country with a 4.00 kills per game average in 2018. Along with his offensive performance, Wieczorek’s 133 career aces are the sixth most career aces in program history during the rally scoring era.

Best players to wear No. 19 by conference

Big West: Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i
ConfCarolinas: Angelos Mandilaris, Barton
EIVA: Hunter Stevens, George Mason
MIVA: Jay Petty, Lewis
MPSF: David Wieczorek, Pepperdine
Independents: Will Ruiz, Alderson Broaddus

Honorable mentions: Jason Agopian, UC Irvine; Randy DeWeese, UC Santa Barbara; Cal Fisher, Penn State; Scott Slaughter, UC Santa Barbara, Devin Young, BYU