By the Numbers: Best college men’s volleyball player to wear No. 16 jersey

Photo courtesy of UCLA athletics

It’s all about the numbers — particularly the number on the jersey.

Off the Block is unveiling the best player to wear each jersey number in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the 25-point rally scoring era.

The latest installment in this summer series examines the best to don the No. 16 jersey. Check out Off the Block throughout June as it continues to reveal the best in the sport to wear each number.


Best player to wear No. 16
Daenan Gyimah, UCLA (2017 – 2020)

Awards and honors: Second-Team All-Decade, 2017 Freshman All-American, 2017 All-MPSF Honorable Mention, 2018 Ryan Millar Award, 2018 International Player of the Year finalist, 2018 First-Team All-American, 2018 First-Team All-MPSF, 2018 NCAA All-Tournament Team, 2019 Ryan Millar Award, 2019 Dain Blanton Diversity Award, 2019 First-Team All-American, 2019 First-Team All-MPSF, 2020 Ryan Millar Award, 2020 Dain Blanton Diversity Award finalist, 2020 First-Team All-American, 2020 First-Team All-MPSF
Player bio: Gyimah finished his college career with a .483 attack percentage and for three consecutive years was in the nation’s top 10 for attack percentage. The middle attacker had a career-best .528 attack percentage in 2018 as he helped the Bruins advance to the NCAA Tournament finals. Gyimah that season defensively had 151 blocks — the second-best single-season blocks in program history during the rally scoring era. In addition, Gyimah ended with 341 career blocks and twice finished in the nation’s top 25 for blocks per game average.

Best players to wear No. 16 by conference

Big West: Karl Apfelbach, UC Irvine
ConfCarolinas: Matt Harpenau, Lees-McRae
EIVA: Calvin Mende, Penn State
MIVA: Joe Smalzer, Loyola
MPSF: Daenan Gyimah, UCLA
Independents: Aleksa Bijelic, Coker

Honorable mentions: BJ Boldog, Lewis; Levi Cabral, Cal Baptist; Jake Hanes, Ohio State; Matt Walsh, Ball State; Sinisa Zarkovic, Hawai’i