By the Numbers: Best college men’s volleyball player to wear No. 14 jersey

Photo courtesy of USC athletics

It’s all about the numbers — particularly the number on the jersey.

Off the Block is unveiling the best player to wear each jersey number in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the 25-point rally scoring era.

The latest installment in this summer series examines the best to don the No. 14 jersey. Check out Off the Block throughout June as it continues to reveal the best in the sport to wear each number.


Best player to wear No. 14
Tony Ciarelli, USC (2009-12)

Awards and honors during 25-point rally scoring era: 2011 Second-Team All-American, 2011 First-Team All-MPSF, 2012 National Player of the Year, 2012 MPSF Player of the Year, 2012 First-Team All-American, 2012 First-Team All-MPSF
Player bio: Ciarelli was fourth in the nation with a 4.13 kills per game average on a career-best .318 attack percentage during his senior season as he helped lead the Trojans to the MPSF regular season championship and the NCAA Tournament finals. The outside attacker that season also had a nation-best 0.61 aces per game average and set a single-season program record during the rally scoring era with 62 aces. Ciarelli finished the 2011 season in the nation’s top 25 with a 3.61 kills per game average and helped USC advance to the NCAA Tournament semifinals.

Best players to wear No. 14 by conference

Big West: Larry Tuileta, Hawai’i
ConfCarolinas: Bret Rutledge, Mount Olive
EIVA: Brian Negron, George Mason
MIVA: Pelegrin Vargas, Purdue Fort Wayne
MPSF: Tony Ciarelli, USC
Independents: Jahari Winkfield, Daemen

Honorable mentions: Jeremy Dejno, UC Irvine; Eric Fitterer, Lewis; Joe Kelly, Princeton; Matt Szews, Ball State; Josh Taylor, Pepperdine