By the Numbers: Best college men’s volleyball player to wear No. 10 jersey

Photo by Fabiana Huffaker

It’s all about the numbers — particularly the number on the jersey.

Off the Block is unveiling the best player to wear each jersey number in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the 25-point rally scoring era.

The latest installment in this summer series examines the best to don the No. 10 jersey. Check out Off the Block throughout June as it continues to reveal the best in the sport to wear each number.


Best player to wear No. 10
Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State (2016-19)

Awards and honors: First-Team All-Decade, 2016 Freshman All-American, 2016 All-MPSF Freshman Team, 2016 Second-Team All-MPSF, 2016 Second-Team All-American, 2017 Lloy Ball Award, 2017 First-Team All-MPSF, 2017 First-Team All-American, 2018 Lloy Ball Award, 2018 All-Big West First-Team, 2018 Big West Tournament MVP, 2018 All-NCAA Tournament Team, 2018 First-Team All-American, 2018 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player, 2018 National Player of the Year, 2019 All-Big West First-Team, 2019 First-Team All-American, 2019 All-NCAA Tournament Team
Player bio: The four-year starter finished his career with 4,607 assists, good for a 10.87 assists per game average, and led Long Beach State to back-to-back NCAA championships. Those 4,607 assists are second most by a Long Beach State setter during the rally-scoring era. Tuaniga ranked third in the nation in 2016 with 11.18 assists per game average, while the Beach ranked fourth in the nation with a .327 attack percentage. Tuaniga the following season led the nation with a 11.08 assists per game average, and the Beach a nation-best top .366 attack percentage. In 2018, Tuaniga ranked sixth nationally with a 10.43 assists per game average as the Beach once again topped the nation with a .375 attack percentage. During his senior season, he ranked third nationally with a 10.71 assists per game average and guided the team to a .414 attack percentage. Tuaniga also closed out his career with 108 career aces — eighth best in program history.

Best players to wear No. 10 by conference

Big West: Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State
ConfCarolinas: Pierre Tang-Taye, Barton
EIVA: Chris Nugent, Penn State
MIVA: Mitch Perinar, Lewis
MPSF: Jonas Umlauft, Hawai’i
Independents: James Henneberry, St. Francis Brooklyn

Honorable mentions: Jennings Franciskovic, Hawai’i; Maxime Hervoir, Ohio State; Jake Langlois, BYU, Mike Marshman, Saint Francis; Ryan Mather, Grand Canyon; Caleb Zimmick, Harvard