Hawai’i opposite Parapunov selected as 2020 Big West Player of Year

Photo courtesy of Hawai’i athletics

Opposite Rado Parapunov has moved into a rare category in Hawai’i’s program history.

Parapunov was named on Monday the 2020 to Big West Player of the Year and became the first Rainbow Warrior to win this conference award.

This is the first time since 2003 that Hawai’i, which was competing in the MPSF at the time, had a player win the conference player of the year. In addition, Parapunov became the first non-Long Beach State player to win the Big West Player of the Year since the multi-sport conference added men’s volleyball in 2018.

Parapunov led the Big West and was second in the nation with a career-best 4.47 kills per game average. Among his top performances featured the opposite having a season-high 30 kills on a .440 attack percentage as No. 1/2 Hawai’i rallied from a two-game deficit to beat No. 2/1 BYU in five games in both teams’ season finale.


Parapunov also was in the conference’s top 10 with both a .377 attack percentage and a 0.36 aces per game average.

Hawai’i for the majority of the season ranked No. 1 in both the national coaches poll and national media poll. The Rainbow Warriors were 15-1 and had yet to start Big West play at the time the season was canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic

Hawai’i led all schools with four First-Team All-Big West selections. UC Santa Barbara, Long Beach State, UC Irvine and UC San Diego each had multiple players make the all-conference team that was announced Monday.

2020 Big West Awards

Big West Player of the Year: Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i
Big West Co-Freshman of the Year: Mason Briggs, Long Beach State
Big West Co-Freshman of the Year: Kyle Hobus, CSUN
Big West Coach of the Year: Rick McLaughlin, UC Santa Barbara

First-Team All-Big West
Setter: Casey McGarry, UC Santa Barbara
Setter: Carlos Rivera, Long Beach State
Setter: Connor Walbrecht, UC San Diego
Opposite: Randy DeWeese, UC Santa Barbara
Opposite: Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i
Outside attacker: Colton Cowell, Hawai’i
Outside attacker: Kyle McCauley, UC San Diego
Outside attacker: Joel Schneidmiller, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Simon Andersen, Long Beach State
Middle attacker: Patrick Gasman, Hawai’i
Middle attacker: Keenan Sanders, UC Santa Barbara
Middle attacker: Scott Stadick, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Daniel Wetter, CSUN
Libero: Gage Worsley, Hawai’i

All-Big West Honorable Mention
Outside attacker: Wyatt Harrison, UC San Diego
Outside attacker: Kyle Hobus, CSUN
Outside attacker: Roy McFarland, UC Santa Barbara
Outside attacker: Spencer Olivier, Long Beach State
Outside attacker: Maciej Ptaszynski, CSUN
Libero: Mason Briggs, Long Beach State

Big West All-Freshman Team
Setter: Brett Sheward, Hawai’i
Setter: Patrick Vorenkamp, UC Irvine
Outside attacker: Chaz Galloway, Hawai’i
Outside attacker: Kyle Hobus, CSUN
Outside attacker: Akhil Tangutur, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Guilherme Voss, Hawai’i
Libero: Mason Briggs, Long Beach State