Barton, Belmont Abbey seniors selected as ConfCarolinas Co-Offensive Players of Year

Photo by Vinnie Lopes

Make it a three-peat for Barton opposite Angelos Mandilaris.

Mandilaris on Monday became the first player in conference history to be named the ConfCarolinas Offensive Player of the Year in three consecutive years.

Mandilaris was third in the nation with a 4.43 kills per game average and had a conference-best .412 attack percentage, including a season-high 25 kills while hitting .382 in a sweep against Loyola. In addition, Mandilaris was second in the conference with a 0.55 aces per game average and had four aces in a season-finale sweep against King.

The Bulldogs were undefeated in conference play and ranked No. 6 in the Off the Block/Frisco Mo Division II National Coaches Poll at the time that the season was canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The Barton senior from Greece was one of three players to the conference’s top awards. Both Mandilars and Belmont Abbey outside attacker Liam Maxwell were named the ConfCarolinas Co-Offensive Player of the Year, while Limestone libero Michal Podgorzak was selected as the ConfCarolinas Defensive Player of the Year.

Maxwell had a nation-best 4.53 kills per game average and had at least 20 kills in seven matches. Among his top performances included a career-high 34 kills on a .309 attack percentage against King.


Podgorzak led the conference and was second in the nation with a 2.94 digs per game average. The libero had double-digit digs in eight of the first nine matches to open the season highlighted with a season-high 22 digs against Emmanuel.

Along with these three awards, the conference unveiled its all-conference team on Tuesday. The ConfCarolinas because of the canceled season opted to have seniors comprise the entire all-conference team.

2020 ConfCarolinas Awards

ConfCarolinas Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Angelos Mandilaris, Barton and Liam Maxwell, Belmont Abbey
ConfCarolinas Defensive Player of the Year: Michal Podgorzak, Limestone

All-ConfCarolinas Team
Oscar Fiorentino
Ben Kasun
Angelos Mandilaris
Tim Wiese
Absalon Williams

Belmont Abbey
Carter Eck
Liam Maxwell
Pierce Pliapol
Bryce Sullivan

Aleksa Lakic
Don Thompson
Alex Zayas

Gary Aromin
Griffin Spence

Sean Kohlhase
Julian Young

Chris Woolslayer
Nash Rauen

Andrew Holman

Mount Olive
Yigit Erkek
Nicolas Laxar
Jesiah Orr
Shane Yeo

North Greenville
Jake Boldog
Jackson Gilbert
Ben Hamsho