NJIT’s Gimeno, Penn State’s Wildman selected as EIVA Co-Players of the Year

Photo courtesy of Penn State athletics

Two outside attackers who were among the EIVA offensive leaders are earning a share of the conference’s top individual honor.

Penn State’s Brett Wildman and NJIT’s Alvaro Gimeno on Tuesday were named the 2020 Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Co-Players of the Year.

Wildman was second in the conference with a 3.68 kills per game average and had at least 15 kills in seven matches, including 17 kills in an upset victory against No. 5/5 Lewis. The sophomore also was in the conference’s top five with .315 attack percentage as he helped Penn State finish undefeated in the EIVA during an abbreviated season because of the coronavirus outbreak.

Gimeno was second in the EIVA with both a .353 attack percentage and a 0.52 aces per game average. The outside attacker had a season-high four aces against George Mason in February and had multiple aces in four conference matches.

Along with his serving performances, Gimeno was third-best in the conference with a 3.63 kills per game average.


This is the first time since 2016 that the EIVA Player of the Year has been awarded to multiple players. That season a Highlander and Nittany Lion — Penn State’s Chris Nugent and NJIT’s Jabarry Goodridge — split the award.

Penn State and NJIT also earned the conference’s other top individual awards.

NJIT outside attacker Julian Meissner was selected as the EIVA Freshman of the Year, while Penn State coach Mark Pavlik won the Bob Sweeney Coach of the Year.

Penn State led all teams with five All-EIVA selections. NJIT had four players earn All-EIVA honors, and Princeton and George Mason each had three players make an All-EIVA Team.

EIVA Awards

Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Co-Players of the Year: Alvaro Gimeno, NJIT; and Brett Wildman, Penn State
EIVA Freshman of the Year: Julian Meissner, NJIT
Bob Sweeney EIVA Coach of the Year: Mark Pavlik, Penn State

First-Team All-EIVA
Setter: Matt Ctvrtlik, Harvard
Opposite: Cal Fisher, Penn State
Opposite: George Huhmann, Princeton
Outside attacker: Michael Fisher, Saint Francis
Outside attacker: Alvaro Gimeno, NJIT
Outside attacker: Brett Wildman, Penn State
Middle attacker: Luca Berger, NJIT
Middle attacker: Jason Donorovich, Penn State
Middle attacker: Jack Reese, George Mason
Libero: Timothy McIntosh, Sacred Heart

Second-Team All-EIVA
Setter: Cole Bogner, Penn State
Setter: Joe Kelly, Princeton
Setter: Roque Nido, NJIT
Outside attacker: Parker Dixon, Princeton
Outside attacker: Sam Greenslade, George Mason
Outside attacker: Julian Meissner, NJIT
Outside attacker: Jerod Nelson, Princeton
Outside attacker: Campbell Schoenfeld, Harvard
Middle attacker: Bryce Gatling, George Mason
Libero: Will Bantle, Penn State

All-EIVA Honorable Mention
Outside attacker: Lachlan Bray, Charleston
Outside attacker: Jens Feldthus, NJIT
Outside attacker: Henrik Falck Lauten, Penn State
Outside attacker: Greg Luck, Princeton
Middle attacker: Joshua Blair, Saint Francis
Middle attacker: Rob Chatterton, Sacred Heart
Middle attacker: Martin de Chavarria, NJIT
Libero: Chase Howard, Harvard