Retired Ohio State coach Hanson named MIVA Coach of Decade

Photo courtesy of Ohio State athletics

Three national championships in a seven-year span was more than enough for Pete Hanson to earn a conference All-Decade Award.

A nationwide voting committee selected the former Hall of Fame Ohio State coach as the MIVA Coach of Decade that was unveiled Wednesday on Off the Block.

Hanson in 2011 guided the Buckeyes to the program’s first NCAA championship and then to back-to-back NCAA titles in 2016 and 2017. The Buckeyes under Hanson also won a conference-best five MIVA championships during the decade.

Hanson earlier this year following his 35th season with Ohio State announced his retirement and concluded his tenure as the winningest coach in program history with 700 career victories.


The Buckeyes since 2010 have seven seasons with at least 20 wins and a cumulative record of 216-85. In addition, Ohio State set a MIVA record winning 42 consecutive matches from 2016-17 and that included sweeping BYU in the 2016 NCAA Tournament finals.

The voting committee for this MIVA Coach of the Decade was comprised of MIVA head coaches along with national volleyball media members. The top-three vote-getters were selected finalists, while the individual with the most votes named the overall award winner.

Hanson garnered 21 votes to win the coaching honor. The other finalists Lewis coach Dan Friend and former Loyola coach Shane Davis both finished tied for second place with seven votes.

Off the Block coordinated the MIVA All-Decade Awards. Along with the MIVA Coach of the Decade, Off the Block presented the MIVA Player of the Decade, the MIVA Team of the Decade and the MIVA All-Decade Awards.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that was established in 2011 and is the nation’s leader college men’s volleyball coverage.

MIVA Coach of the Decade voting results

1. Pete Hanson, Ohio State — 21 votes
T-2. Shane Davis, Loyola — 7 votes
T-2. Dan Friend, Lewis — 7 votes
4. Kevin Burch, Ohio State — 3 votes