Penn State’s Pavlik named EIVA Coach of Decade

Photo courtesy of Penn State athletics

The winningest coach in the EIVA from this decade is earning the conference’s top coaching honor.

A nationwide voting committee selected Penn State coach Mark Pavlik as the EIVA Coach of the Decade that was revealed Tuesday on Off the Block.

Pavlik since 2010 guided the Nittany Lions to seven EIVA championships and a 111-15 combined record in conference play. In addition, Penn State opened the decade with five consecutive season of at least 20 wins and three straight years of finishing in the top 10 of the national coaches poll.


Among Penn State’s top performances this decade included the 2010 season as Pavlik led the team to an undefeated conference season and the NCAA Tournament finals.

The voting committee for this EIVA Coach of the Decade was comprised of EIVA head coaches along with national volleyball media members. The top-three vote-getters were selected finalists, while the individual with the most votes named the overall award winner.

Pavlik with 18 votes received more votes than the other two finalists had combined. George Mason coach Jay Hosack, who previously was on Pavlik’s coaching staff at Penn State, was the runner-up with seven votes, and Princeton coach Sam Shweisky finished in third place with five votes.

Off the Block coordinated the EIVA All-Decade Awards. Along with the EIVA Coach of the Decade, Off the Block presented the EIVA Player of the Decade, the EIVA Team of the Decade and the EIVA All-Decade Awards.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that was established in 2011 and is the nation’s leader college men’s volleyball coverage.

EIVA Coach of the Decade voting results

1. Mark Pavlik, Penn State — 18 votes
2. Jay Hosack, George Mason — 7 votes
3. Sam Shweisky, Princeton — 5 votes
T-4. Fred Chao, George Mason — 1 vote
T-4. Mike Rumbaugh, Saint Francis — 1 vote
T-4. Bren Stevens, Charleston — 1 vote