King coach Booher named ConfCarolinas Coach of Decade

Photo courtesy of King athletics

Three consecutive season with at least 20 wins and a conference title resulted in King coach Ryan Booher earning a conference honor.

A nationwide voting committee selected Booher as the ConfCarolinas Coach of the Decade that was announced Monday on Off the Block.

Booher guided the Tornado to a share of the ConfCarolinas regular season title in three straight seasons. King in 2018 went a program-best 15-1 in conference play and won the ConfCarolinas Tournament as the team reached the NCAA Tournament for the first time in program history.


As the longest tenured active coach in the ConfCarolinas, Booher led King to six winning seasons during the decade and a 145-124 cumulative record. He also was named the ConfCarolinas Coach of the Year in 2011, 2017 and 2018.

The voting committee for this ConfCarolinas Coach of the Decade was comprised of current and former ConfCarolinas head coaches along with national volleyball media members. The top-three vote-getters were selected finalists, while the individual with the most votes named the overall award winner.

Booher received 16 votes to edge out the runner-up Barton coach Jeff Lennox by four votes. Former Mount Olive and Erskine coach Cole Tallman finished in third place with six votes.

Off the Block coordinated the ConfCarolinas All-Decade Awards. Along with the ConfCarolinas Coach of the Decade, Off the Block presented the ConfCarolinas Player of the Decade, the ConfCarolinas Team of the Decade and the ConfCarolinas All-Decade Awards.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that was established in 2011 and is the nation’s leader college men’s volleyball coverage.

ConfCarolinas Coach of the Decade voting results

1. Ryan Booher, King — 16 votes
2. Jeff Lennox, Barton — 12 votes
3. Cole Tallman, Mount Olive and Erskine — 6 votes
4. Derek Schmitt, Erskine — 5 votes
5. David Heller, Mount Olive — 3 votes