Off the Block announces Saint Francis All-Decade Starting Lineup

Photo courtesy of Saint Francis athletics

Some of the top Saint Francis players from the decade are receiving a college men’s volleyball honor.

Off the Block announced on Tuesday the seven players selected to the Saint Francis All-Decade Starting Lineup presented by Off the Block.

The All-Decade Starting Lineup recognizes the best players to compete with a team since 2010. Similar to the starting lineup for a match, the All-Decade honor is comprised of a setter, opposite and libero along with two outside attackers and middle attackers.

The Off the Block staff determined the All-Decade Starting Lineup using a variety of factors including career statistical performance and the team’s overall success when a player was a member of the program.

This is also part of a series from Off the Block to celebrate the end of the decade in college men’s volleyball. Off the Block throughout the rest of 2019 will release an All-Decade Starting Lineup for every NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball team.

The Red Flash qualified for the EIVA Tournament three times since 2012 when the conference reduced to the size of the tournament field to four teams.


Saint Francis upset Penn State in the 2016 EIVA Tournament semifinals to advance to the championship match. That upset was the first time in almost 20 years that a team defeated the Nittany Lions in the conference tournament.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that was established in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball.

Saint Francis All-Decade Starting Lineup presented by Off the Block

Setter: Daniel Ford
Opposite: Jordan Varee
Outside attacker: Stephen Braswell
Outside attacker: Michael Fisher
Middle attacker: Adam Roche
Middle attacker: Mike Marshman
Libero: Gabe Woffindin

Stephen Braswell (2015-18)
Awards and honors:
2018 Second-Team All-EIVA, 2017 Second-Team All-EIVA, 2016 First-Team All-EIVA
Braswell is third all-time in school history and holds the program record during the 25-point rally scoring era with 1,194 career kills. The outside attacker ended the 2016 season in the conference’s top 10 with a career-best 3.15 kills per game average, including having a season-high 20 kills while hitting .300 in a regular season upset victory against Penn State. Braswell as a senior was third in the conference averaging 0.45 aces per game and ended his career second in the team’s history with 124 aces. In addition, Braswell had more than 100 digs in each of his four seasons and is in the school’s top five with 654 career kills.

Michael Fisher (2017 – present)
Awards and honors:
2019 First-Team All-EIVA, 2017 Off the Block Freshman All-American, 2017 Second-Team All-EIVA
Fisher ended last season sixth in the nation with a 4.24 kills per game average as he helped lead the Red Flash to the EIVA Tournament semifinals. He also had a stretch of four consecutive matches with at least 20 kills that was highlighted by a season-high 27 kills in a road upset against Ohio State. Along with his offensive performance, Fisher was fifth in the conference and among the nation’s top 20 averaging 0.40 aces per game. Fisher in his freshman season was second in the EIVA with a 3.53 kills per game average and was in the conference’s top 20 with a 0.22 aces per game average.

Daniel Ford (2015-17)
Awards and honors:
2017 First-Team All-EIVA, 2016 Second-Team All-EIVA
Ford was the only Saint Francis setter to earn multiple All-EIVA honors during the decade and concluded his college career third in school history with 2,680 assists. The three-year starter finished his junior season in the nation’s top 15 with a 10.05 assists per game average and guided the Red Flash offense to its best attack percentage of the decade at .281. Ford in 2017 also was second in the EIVA with a 9.97 assists percentage and had his third consecutive season with more than 100 digs.

Mike Marshman (2013-16)
Awards and honors:
2015 First-Team All-EIVA, 2014 Second-Team All-EIVA
Marshman during his senior season led the EIVA and was ninth in the nation with a .403 attack percentage. He also had double-digit kills in four matches that season, including 11 kills on a .625 attack percentage as Saint Francis upset Penn State in the EIVA Tournament semifinals. This also was the third consecutive year that Marshman finished with more than a .375 attack percentage. In addition, Marshman had a 1.01 blocks per game average in 2016 as he ended his college career in the conference’s top 10 for blocks in back-to-back seasons.

Adam Roche (2010-13)
Awards and honors:
2012 Second-Team All-EIVA
Roche set the program’s 25-point rally scoring era record and is second all-time in school history with 375 blocks. The middle attacker in 2012 led the EIVA and was third in the nation with a 1.57 blocks per game average, including having more than 10 blocks in three matches. Roche the following season averaged 1.35 blocks per game to lead the EIVA for the second consecutive year. In addition, Roche had a .302 career attack percentage and back-to-back seasons hitting more than .300.

Jordan Varee (2017-10)
Awards and honors from this decade:
2010 First-Team All-EIVA
Varee as a senior led the EIVA with a 4.83 kills per game average to conclude his time at Saint Francis with a school record 1,864 career kills. The opposite had at least 30 kills in two matches that season along with having both a match-high 20 kills and five aces in an upset victory against Ohio State. In addition, Varee ended the 2010 season in the conference’s top 10 with both a .308 attack percentage and a 0.39 aces per game average.

Gabe Woffindin (2016 – present)
Awards and honors:
2017 Second-Team All-EIVA
Woffindin was in the conference’s top five for digs in each of his three seasons in the Red Flash starting lineup. As a freshman, Woffindin was in the nation’s top 15 averaging 2.39 digs per game and had double-digit digs in eight conference matches. The libero in 2017 was third in the conference and in the nation’s top 15 for the second straight year with a 2.36 digs per game average.