Lindenwood schedules two-match home series vs. CSUN for 2020 season

Photo by Jay Sowers

A nationally ranked team from California will travel to Lindenwood for multiple non-conference matches during the upcoming season.

Lindenwood as part of unveiling its 2020 schedule announced it will play a two-match home series versus CSUN on Feb. 7.

This will be the third time in the last five years that the Matadors and Lions have played each other, but it will be the first meeting on Lindenwood’s home court. CSUN won both previous matches highlighted by having 10 aces in a home sweep against Lindenwood last season.

CSUN ended the 2019 season at No. 12 in the national coaches poll and in fifth place in the Big West. The team also had two wins against top-10 ranked team, including a sweep of then-No. 2 UCLA in the opening weeks of the season.

Lindenwood in conference play last season had a home victory against a nationally ranked team and concluded the regular season in sixth place in the MIVA.

Both the Matadors and Lions return multiple starters who earned conference all-freshman team honors last season.

CSUN Setter Taylor Ittner and middle attacker Daniel Wetter were named to the Big West All-Freshman Team, while Lindenwood outside attackers Diego Negron and Phil Swartz made the MIVA All-Freshman Team.

This two-match series will be part of a 13-match season-opening home stand for Lindenwood. The team earlier in the home stand will play UC San Diego, Lees-McRae and Grand Canyon on Jan. 23-25 as part of the Lindenwood Invitational.

Along with these non-conference home matches, Lindenwood will travel to play the two-time defending NCAA champions Long Beach State on March 6 and USC on March 7.

Lindenwood 2020 schedule

Thursday, Jan. 9 vs. Mount Olive
Friday, Jan. 10 vs. Lincoln Memorial
Friday, Jan. 17 vs. St. Francis
Saturday, Jan. 18 vs. NJIT
Thursday, Jan. 23 vs. UC San Diego
Friday, Jan. 24 vs. Lees-McRae
Saturday, Jan. 25 vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, Jan. 31 vs. Tusculum
Saturday, Feb. 1 vs. Urbana
Friday, Feb. 7 vs. CSUN
Saturday, Feb. 8 vs. CSUN
Thursday, Feb. 13 vs. Purdue Fort Wayne
Friday, Feb. 15 vs. Loyola
Thursday, Feb. 20 at McKendree
Saturday, Feb. 22 at Lewis
Friday, Feb. 28 vs. Ball State
Saturday, Feb. 29 vs. Ohio State
Friday, March 6 at Long Beach State
Saturday, March 7 at USC
Wednesday, March 18 vs. Quincy
Saturday, March 21 at Quincy
Friday, March 27 at Ohio State
Saturday, March 28 at Ball State
Friday, April 3 at Loyola
Saturday, April 4 at Purdue Fort Wayne
Thursday, April 9 vs. Lewis
Saturday, April 11 vs. McKendree