Concordia-Irvine to play three matches versus UC Irvine in 2020

Photo by Fabiana Beatriz

Jonathan Bates | Associate Editor

What do you do with your schedule when a four-time national championship winning program is literally next door to your campus? You schedule three matches with them.

Concordia-Irvine as part of unveiling its 2020 schedule announced it will play three matches against UC Irvine – one at home, one on the road, and one at a neutral site (Hawai’i’s Stan Sheriff Center).

Other highlights of the Eagles’ non-conference schedule include playing each member of the Big West Conference, including a home-and-home series with UC San Diego.

Concordia-Irvine will participate in two tournaments in 2020 – the UCSB ASICS Invitational in January and the Outrigger Tournament in February.

Rounding out the non-conference schedule are four matches against NAIA opponents, a home match versus the University of British Columbia, a home match versus the Division III national runner up (UC Santa Cruz), a neutral site match versus Queens, and a home match versus Harvard. 

While the Eagles finished tied for sixth place in the MPSF last season, they posted a stellar 12-4 record at home. 

The Eagles return redshirt senior outside attacker Jordan Hoppe who received all-MPSF honorable mention honors last season. Hoppe led the team 333 kills and 36 aces last season.

Concordia-Irvine 2020 Schedule

Monday, Jan 6 vs. Saint Katherine
Monday, Jan 6 vs. British Columbia
Thursday, Jan 9 at UC Santa Barbara
Friday, Jan 10 vs. CSUN (neutral site)
Saturday, Jan 11 vs. Long Beach State (neutral site)
Friday, Jan 17 vs. Vanguard
Wednesday, Jan 22 at Vanguard
Thursday, Jan 30 at UC Irvine
Friday, Jan 31 at UC San Diego
Thursday, Feb 6 vs UC Irvine (neutral site)
Friday, Feb 7 at Hawai’i
Saturday, Feb 8 vs. Queens (neutral site)
Thursday, Feb 13 at Pepperdine
Saturday, Feb 15 at UCLA
Thursday, Feb 20 at Stanford
Saturday, Feb 22 at BYU
Wednesday, Feb 26 vs. UC Irvine
Friday, Feb 28 vs. Grand Canyon
Thursday, March 5 at Westcliff
Thursday, March 5 vs. UC Santa Cruz
Monday, March 9 vs. Harvard
Wednesday, March 11 vs. USC
Thursday, March 12 vs. Jamestown
Friday, March 13 at USC
Thursday, March 19 vs. Stanford
Saturday, March 21 vs. BYU
Thursday, April 2 vs. UCLA
Saturday, April 4 vs. Pepperdine
Saturday, April 11 at Grand Canyon