Zero changes to top spots in new RPI rankings

Photo by Fabiana Huffaker

A week that featured four of the top-10 nationally ranked team suffering losses ended without a shakeup to the top of the RPI.

The top-nine spots remained unchanged from last week in the latest RPI rankings that the NCAA released on Monday.

USC was the highest ranked team to move in the rankings. The team jumped two spots to No. 10 following an upset victory against previously undefeated Long Beach State on Saturday.

Along with USC, Lincoln Memorial and McKendree made two of the biggest improvements in the new rankings.

The Railsplitters behind three victories against ConfCarolinas opponents last week leaped four spots to No. 16. McKendree moved up eight spots to No. 20 after beating BYU and Princeton during the weekend at the BYU Invitational.

Hawai’i, Long Beach State, Pepperdine, UC Santa Barbara and UCLA all remain in the top five of the rankings for the second consecutive week.

The RPI is one of the criteria categories the selection committee uses to determine the NCAA Tournament field. A team’s RPI ranking is calculated using a mathematical formula that includes its winning percentage, strength of schedule and opponents’ strength of schedule.

An updated RPI rankings will be released each Monday throughout the regular season and conference tournaments. The final RPI rankings before the seven-team NCAA Tournament will be unveiled on Selection Sunday, April 21.

RPI rankings (March 24)

1. Hawai’i
2. Long Beach State
3. Pepperdine
4. UC Santa Barbara
6. Stanford
7. BYU
8. UC Irvine
9. Lewis
10. USC
11. Loyola
12. CSUN
13. Barton
14. Ball State
15. Grand Canyon
16. Lincoln Memorial
17. King
18. Purdue Fort Wayne
19. George Mason
20. McKendree
21. Penn State
22. Princeton
23. North Greenville
24. St. Francis
25. Concordia-Irvine
26. UC San Diego
27. Mount Olive
28. Ohio State
29. Belmont Abbey
30. Lindenwood
31. Harvard
32. Limestone
33. Queens
34. NJIT
35. Erskine
36. Emmanuel
37. Coker
38. Quincy
39. Charleston
40. Sacred Heart
41. Lees-McRae
42. Daemen
43. Alderson Broaddus