Ohio State’s Szerszen makes history with third MIVA Player of Year

Ohio State outside attacker Nicolas Szerszen is now in a category all by himself throughout the almost 60-year history of the MIVA.

The senior All-American on Wednesday was named the 2018 MIVA Player of the Year to become the first three-time recipient of the award in the conference’s history.

Szerszen finished the regular season third in the conference with a 3.68 kills per game average and had the MIVA’s sixth-best attack percentage at .381. He also had double-digit kills while hitting at least .400 in five MIVA matches as the Buckeyes earned the No. 1 seed for the MIVA Tournament and were the co-MIVA regular season champions.

Along with his offensive performance, Szerszen led the MIVA averaging 0.51 aces per game and was in the conference’s top 10 averaging 2.14 digs per game.

Szerszen was one of five Buckeyes to earn All-MIVA honors.

Ohio State and Lewis led all teams with the most all-conference selections. Loyola had four players make an All-MIVA Team, while Ball State and Fort Wayne each had three players earn the conference honors.

Loyola also earned two of the conference’s top individual awards. Setter Garrett Zolg was named the MIVA Freshman of the Year, and Mark Hulse was selected as the MIVA Coach of the Year for the first time in his career.

MIVA Top Individual Awards

2018 MIVA Player of the Year: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
2018 MIVA Coach of the Year: Mark Hulse, Loyola
2018 MIVA Freshman of the Year: Garrett Zolg, Loyola

2018 All–MIVA First Team

Setter: Sanil Thomas, Ohio State
Setter: Garrett Zolg, Loyola
Opposite: Ricky Gevis, Loyola
Outside attacker: Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Outside attacker: Maxime Hervoir, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Collin Mahan, Loyola
Outside attacker: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne
Middle attacker: Jeff Jendryk, Loyola
Middle attacker: Brendan Schmidt, McKendree
Middle attacker: Matt Walsh, Ball State
Libero: Michael Simmons, Lewis

2018 All–MIVA Second Team

Setter: Adam Brewster, Lindenwood
Setter: Michael Keegan, Fort Wayne
Setter: Jake Romano, Ball State
Setter: Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis
Opposite: Jake Hanes, Ohio State
Opposite: Mitch Perinar, Lewis
Outside attacker: Nolan Rueter, McKendree
Outside attacker: Mitch Weiler, Ball State
Middle attacker: Tomas Gago, Fort Wayne
Middle attacker: Blake Leeson, Ohio State
Middle attacker: Tyler Mitchem, Lewis
Libero: Ryan Vorderer, Lindenwood

2018 All-Freshman Team

Setter: Garrett Zolg, Loyola
Opposite: Jake Hanes, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Ben Chinnici, Ball State
Outside attacker: Patrick Ross, McKendree
Middle attacker: Tomas Gago, Fort Wayne
Middle attacker: Tyler Mitchem, Lewis
Middle attacker: TJ Murray, Lewis

Photo courtesy of The Ohio State University athletics