OTB/Springbak National Player of Year: Championship Round voting

Off the Block selected and seeded the bracket, and the fans have narrowed it to four players for the championship round of the 2017 Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Fan Choice National Player of the Year.

The Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Fan Choice National Player of the Year recognizes the best individual performances from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball players during the season and gives volleyball fans from around the world the chance decide the winner through online voting.

The bracket-style tournament continues today with the championship round. Online voting for the four players in the championship round will end at 10 p.m. (CST) Sunday.


Check out the championship round ballot below. Individuals also can vote at offtheblockblog.com/playerofyear.

National statistical leaders
National and conference award winners
Tournament bracket

Championship Round

Miles Johnson, Ohio State
Johnson was ninth in the nation with a 3.83 kills per game average on a .329 attack percentage and one of seven players in the country to have at least 50 aces. The First-Team All-American selection and finalist for the Bryan Ivie Award also helped lead the Buckeyes to back-to-back NCAA championships.

David Wieczorek, Pepperdine
Wieczorek finished the season eighth in the nation with a 3.86 kills per game average on a .354 attack percentage, including having at least 20 kills in four matches. He also earned First-Team All-MPSF honors as Pepperdine reached the conference tournament quarterfinals.

Tanner Syftestad, UC San Diego
Syftestad was in the nation’s top five averaging 4.21 kills per game and had seven matches with more than 20 kills. He also was named the Division II National Player of the Year as UC San Diego concluded the 2017 season at No. 2 in the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Division II National Coaches Poll.

Arvis Greene, CSUN
Greene was sixth in the nation with a 3.99 kills per game average while hitting .304 and had a career-high 51 blocks. The opposite also was a Second-Team All-MPSF selection as CSUN finished the season in ninth place in the MPSF.