NJIT outside Goodridge named 2017 EIVA Player of Year

NJIT outside attacker Jabarry Goodridge will end his college career as a multiple-time recipient of the top award in his conference.

The EIVA announced Tuesday that Goodridge was selected as the 2017 EIVA Player of the Year.

Goodridge, the 2016 Co-EIVA Player of the Year, ended the regular season with a conference-best 4.43 kills per game average and third in the EIVA with a .329 attack percentage. The senior also led the EIVA averaging 0.50 aces per game as he helped the Highlanders finish in sixth in the conference and almost earn a postseason berth to the four-team EIVA Tournament.


Along with Goodrige, Princeton and Sacred Heart earned the two other top individual awards from the conference.

Princeton freshman middle attacker George Huhmann was named the 2017 EIVA Newcomer of the Year after finishing in the conference’s top three with both a 1.04 blocks per game averge and a .386 attack percentage. In addition, Greg Walker in his second season coaching Sacred Heart was selected as the 2017 EIVA Coach of the Year.

St. Francis led all schools with five players earning All-EIVA honors.

Uvaldo Acosta Memorial 2017 EIVA Player of the Year:
Jabarry Goodridge, NJIT
2017 EIVA Newcomer of the Year: George Huhmann, Princeton
Bob Sweeney 2017 EIVA Coach of the Year: Greg Walker, Sacred Heart

Setter: Daniel Ford, St. Francis
Oppoiste: Jeff Hogan, St. Francis
Opposite: Calvin Mende, Penn State
Opposite: Jack Wilson, George Mason
Outside attacker: Christopher DeLucie, Sacred Heart
Outside attacker: Jabarry Goodridge, NJIT
Outside attacker: Chris Nugent, Penn State
Middle attacker: George Huhmann, Princeton
Middle attacker: Junior Oboh, Princeton
Libero: Josh Ayzenberg, Sacred Heart

Setter: Marko Kostich, Harvard
Setter: Eduardo Zardo, Sacred Heart
Opposite: Parker Dixon, Princeton
Outside attacker: Aidan Albrecht, Penn State
Outside attacker: Stephen Braswell, St. Francis
Outside attacker: Michael Fisher, St. Francis
Outside attacker: Casey White, Harvard
Middle attacker: Luke Robbe, NJIT
Libero: Johnny Gomez, George Mason
Libero: Gabe Woffindin, St. Francis