Ohio State signs additional all-state high school recruits

The defending-national champions have added even more depth in its attempt to win back-to-back NCAA title.

Ohio State recently announced that it completed its incoming recruiting class with five more high school graduates who have committed to play for the Buckeyes beginning in 2017.

Among these latest commitments includes three players who earned all-state accolades and an individual who was named the high school player of the year in their state.

Tyler Alter, a 6-foot-4 outside attacker from Laguna Beach, California, finished his high school career as a first-team all-state selection. He also helped his club team win a gold medal at the 2014 Junior Olympics and the bronze medal at the event last year.


Dejon Clark, a 6-foot-5 outside attacker from Pickerington, Ohio, earned first-team all-state honors and was runner-up for the 2016 Ohio Player of the year. In addition, Clark led his high school team to its first district title in school history and a berth in the state championships.

Shawn Hughes, a 6-foot-4 outside attacker from St. Louis, was a three-time all-state recipient in high school and led his team to repeat as state champions. He also was named the Missouri Player of the Year and was a finalist for the St. Louis Dispatch Male Athlete of the Year.

Along with Hughes, his high school teammate Paul Henken will join the Buckeyes. Henken, a 6-foot-3 setter from St. Louis, helped guide the high school team to back-to-back Missouri state titles.

Jason Bruggeman, a 6-foot-5 middle attacker from Cincinnati, was an all-state honorable mention in high school. The in-state recruit in the classroom concluded high school with a 4.0 grade point average.

These five recruits join the three Ohio State incoming recruits — outside attacker Reese Devilbiss, opposite Jake Hanes and setter Andrew Hillman — who committed during the earlier signing period. All three early commits were named AVCA High School Senior All-Americans.

Ohio State finished last season winning its second national championship in the last six years. The Buckeyes return a majority starters from that championship team, including the 2016 National Player of the Year outside attacker Nicolas Szerszen.