Ohio State outside Szerszen earns 2016 MIVA Player of Year

The outside attacker who led No. 2/2 Ohio State to a near perfect conference season received the top individual honor from the MIVA.

The conference announced Thursday that Ohio State outside attacker Nicolas Szerszen was selected as the 2016 MIVA Player of the Year.

Szerszen finished the regular season fifth in the nation averaging 4.34 kills per game and in the nation’s top 10 with a .409 attack percentage. The sophomore also led the conference with 46 aces as the Buckeyes (25-2, 15-1 MIVA) won their first MIVA regular season championship since 2012.

Along with Szerszen, Ohio State coach Pete Hanson was named the MIVA Coach of the Year for the 12th time in his Hall of Fame career.


Lewis opposite Mitch Perinar also received one of the conference’s top individual awards being named the MIVA Freshman of the Year.

Ohio State led all MIVA teams with five players selected to an all-conference team, including three Buckeyes who earned first-team honors. In addition, Loyola and Lewis each had four All-MIVA selections.

Individual awards
2016 MIVA Player of the Year: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
2016 MIVA Freshman of the Year: Mitch Perinar, Lewis
2016 MIVA Coach of the Year: Pete Hanson, Ohio State

All-MIVA First Team
Setter: Christy Blough, Ohio State
Setter: Peter Hutz, Loyola
Opposite: Andrew Sellan, IPFW
Opposite: Miles Johnson, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Gerrard Lipscombe, Grand Canyon
Outside attacker: Shalev Saada, Grand Canyon
Outside attacker: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Middle attacker: Jeff Jendryk, Loyola
Middle attacker: Bobby Walsh, Lewis
Libero: Luis Bertran, IPFW

All-MIVA Second Team
Setter: Scott Fifer, Lewis
Opposite: Mitch Perinar, Lewis
Outside attacker: Christian Franceschi, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Trevor Novotny, Loyola
Outside attacker: Brendan Surane, Ball State
Middle attacker: Jarrod Kelso, Quincy
Middle attacker: Nicholas Olson, Loyola
Middle attacker: Jacob Schmiegelt, Lewis
Middle attacker: Matt Walsh, Ball State
Libero: Gabriel Domecus, Ohio State

All-MIVA Honorable Mention
Setter: Hiago Garchet, Ball State
Outside attacker: Mitch Weiler, Ball State
Opposite: Jack Gamache, Quincy
Opposite: Jared Wilcox, McKendree
Opposite: Trevor Weiskircher, Lewis
Outside attacker: Alex Harthaller, IPFW
Outside attacker: Collin Mahan, Loyola
Middle attacker: Blake Leeson, Ohio State
Middle attacker: Wyatt Patterson, McKendree
Middle attacker: Brendan Schmidt, McKendree
Libero: Jake Selsky, Loyola
Libero: Adam Wessel, Ball State