UCLA’s Kiraly, Scates named Pac-12 player, coach of century

Add another honor to an already packed resume for Hall of Fame outside attacker Karch Kiraly.

The Pac-12 announced earlier this week that the former UCLA All-American was selected as the Pac-12 Men’s Volleyball Player of the Century.

Kiraly led the Bruins to three NCAA championships from 1979-82 and was a four-time All-American. The multiple Olympic gold medalist also ended his college career with a combined 126-5 record, including having undefeated seasons as a freshman and senior.

Kiraly was one of two Bruins to earn the top individual honors for the conference’s all-century team.


Hall of Famer and former UCLA coach Al Scates was named the Pac-12 Men’s Volleyball Coach of the Century. Scates, the winningest coach in NCAA volleyball history, guided the Bruins to 19 NCAA championships and finished his 50-year coaching career with an .812 winning percentage.

Along with earning the player and coach of the century awards, UCLA led all teams with nine players on the Pac-12 Men’s Volleyball All-Century Team.

USC also had four Pac-12 All-Century selections, while Stanford had three former players earn the accolade.

A voting committee comprised of former and current head coaches determined the Pac-12 Men’s Volleyball All-Century Team. The Pac-12 has unveiled all-century teams in each sport to celebrate the conference’s 100th anniversary.

Stanford, UCLA, USC are the only Pac-12 schools that currently have men’s volleyball programs. All three teams compete in the MPSF, which is affiliated with the Pac-12.

Pac-12 Men’s Volleyball All-Century honors
Player of the Century: Karch Kiraly, UCLA
Coach of the Century: Al Scates, UCLA

Pac-12 Men’s Volleyball All-Century Team
Setter: Dusty Dvorak, USC (1977-80)
Setter: Ricci Luyties, UCLA (1981-84)
Setter: Stein Metzger, UCLA (1993-96)
Setter: Brandon Taliaferro, UCLA (1997-2000)
Outside attacker: Celso Kalache, USC (1973-75, 1977)
Outside attacker: Karch Kiraly, UCLA (1979-82)
Outside attacker: Mike Lambert, Stanford (1993-95, 1997)
Outside attacker: Paul Nihipali, UCLA (1994-97)
Outside attacker: Pat Powers, USC (1978-80)
Outside attacker: Ernie Suwara, UCLA (1965-67)
Outside attacker: Asbjorn Volstad, UCLA (1984-87)
Middle attacker: Bryan Ivie, USC (1988-91)
Middle attacker: Scott Fortune, Stanford (1985-87, 1989)
Middle attacker: Jeff Nygaard, UCLA (1992-95)
Middle attacker: Doug Partie, UCLA (1981-84)
Libero: Erik Shoji, Stanford (2009-12)