Rambling Repeat: Loyola beats Lewis in fifth game OT to win NCAA title

All the hype surrounding MIVAgeddon IV and the first meeting between two MIVA teams in the NCAA Tournament finals didn’t do the actual match justice.

Loyola fought off multiple championship-points in a fifth-game overtime to beat Lewis 21-25, 25-23, 25-15, 25-27, 23-21 to repeat as NCAA champions.

This was the longest fifth game overtime in NCAA Tournament finals history during the rally scoring era. It was also the first NCAA title match to reach a decisive fifth game since 2011.


Middle attacker Jeff Jendryk had a 17 kills on a .500 attack percentage and a match-high nine blocks to be named the NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player. In addition, All-American outside attacker Thomas Jaeschke in the victory had a team-high 20 kills.

Loyola in the victory out-hit Lewis .260 to .219, including having a .276 attack percentage in the decisive fifth game.

Lewis outside attacker Greg Petty finished with a match-high 23 kills, while outside attacker Geoff Powell added 20 kills.