BYU coach McGown selected as 2013 MPSF Coach of the Year

Chris McGown three days after winning his first conference championship has now taken the conference’s top coaching honor.

The league announced Wednesday that BYU’s second-year head coach McGown was selected as the 2013 MPSF Coach of the Year.

The Cougars (25-4, 21-3 MPSF) were ranked No. 1 in the national media poll and coaches poll throughout the majority of the season and set a school record for conference wins as they won the MPSF regular season title. BYU in the postseason also won the MPSF Tournament and reached the program’s first NCAA Tournament since 2004.


BYU earned the No. 1 overall seed for the NCAA Tournament and will play the No. 4 seed Penn State in the semifinals on Thursday in Los Angeles.

McGown becomes the third BYU coach to be named MPSF Coach of the Year. McGown’s father, Hall of Famer Carl McGown, was selected as coach of the year in 1999 and 2001 and Tom Peterson received the honor in 2003.

The MPSF was the last men’s volleyball conference to announce its coach of the year award-winner.

Ball State coach Joel Walton was named the 2013 MIVA Coach of the Year, while Penn State coach Mark Pavlik earned the 2013 EIVA Coach of the Year. In addition, first-year Mount Olive head coach David Heller was selected as the 2013 Conference Carolinas Coach of the Year.