AVCA releases 2011 high school boy’s volleyball All-American team

Twenty incoming freshmen were named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association High School Senior All-American Team on Wednesday.

UC Irvine, Loyola and Pepperdine led all teams with two players selected as a First-Team All-American. Cal State Northridge also had a First-Team and Second-Team All-American selection, while UC San Diego had two players named Second-Team All-Americans.

USC, Ohio State, Lewis, BYU, Juniata and Princeton each had one incoming recruit selected as an All-American.

This is the fifth year of the boy’s volleyball AVCA High School Senior All-American teams. Among the players previous selected includes Loyola’s All-American outside attacker Mike Bunting and former UC Santa Barbara setter Vince Devany, who helped lead the Gauchos to the NCAA championship match last season.


To be eligible for this team a boy’s volleyball player must be a senior and his high school head coach must be an AVCA member. The selection committee is comprised of eight high school coaches from across the country.

AVCA First-Team Boy’s High School Senior All-American

Outside attacker: Jason Agopian — Deer Valley High School (UC Irvine)
Outside attacker: Nikola Antonijevic — Adlai E. Stevenson High School (Pepperdine)
Outside attacker: Cody Caldwell — Newport Harbor High School (Loyola)
Outside attacker: Michael Henchy — Ventura High School (Ohio State)
Outside attacker: Greg Petty — Downers Grove North High School (Lewis)
Outside attacker: Kyle Russell — Del Oro High School (UC Irvine)
Outside attacker: Matthew Tarantino — Bishop Alemany High School (Pepperdine)
Middle attacker: Robert Feathers — Loyola High School of Los Angeles (USC)
Setter: Travis Magorien — Westlake High School (Cal State Northridge)
Setter: Kurtis Mirick — Loyola High School of Los Angeles (Loyola)

AVCA Second-Team Boy’s High School Senior All-American

Opposite: Jacob Chappell — The Harker School (Uncommitted)
Outside attacker: Darren Kilby — James River High School (Uncommitted)
Outside attacker: Eric Luhrsen — Wheaton Warrenville South High School (Uncommitted)
Middle attacker: Price Jarman — Bonanza High School (BYU)
Middle attacker: Brian O’Gorman — John F. Kennedy High School (Cal State Northridge)
Middle attacker: Bill Siroky — Carl Sandburg High School (Princeton)
Setter: Garrett Dempsey — Marist School (UC San Diego)
Setter: Tien Le — Carlsbad High School (UC San Diego)
Libero: Eric McCarthy — Willowbrook High School (Juniata)
Libero: Ryan Windisch — Servite High School (Uncommitted)

2 Replies to “AVCA releases 2011 high school boy’s volleyball All-American team”

  1. Last year’s selection for this ‘team’ had very few of the top freshman either MPSF or NCAA – Taylor Sander, Henry Cassiday, Taylor Crabb, Eric Mochalski…and this year’s one doesn’t have Micah Christianson.

    Which begs the question, why call them All-American? Better would be All-AVCA people’s choice?

  2. I predict that Caleb Arelus of Bloomfield High school (CT)will be on the AVCA second all-American team next year.

Comments are closed.