Ohio State’s Hanson named 2011 AVCA National Coach of the Year

Add another national award for Ohio State this season.

Ohio State coach Pete Hanson was named the American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I-II Men’s National Coach of the Year on Wednesday after leading the Buckeyes to their first NCAA championship in program history.

Ohio State defeated UC Santa Barbara in the NCAA championship match to become the first MIVA team to legally win a national title since volleyball became an NCAA sanctioned sport in 1970. The 28-year head coach also guided the Buckeyes to their fourth consecutive conference championship — the first time a program has won four consecutive MIVA titles since Ball State in the 1960s.

This is the second time Hanson won the National Coach of the Year award. Hanson received the award in 2000 as the Buckeyes won the MIVA championship and reached the NCAA championship match.


Hanson also was named the 2011 MIVA Coach of the Year, the fifth consecutive year he earned the award.

Along with the National Coach of the Year award, the AVCA named former UC Irvine assistant coach David Kniffin the 2011 Division I-II Men’s National Assistant Coach of the Year.

Kniffin completed his fifth season at UC Irvine before accepting an assistant coach position with the Illinois women’s volleyball team in May. The Anteaters finished the 2011 season in fourth place in the MPSF and lost in the conference tournament semifinals.

Hanson and Kniffin will formally receive their awards in December at the Coaches Honors Luncheon during the 2011 AVCA Annual Convention.

One Reply to “Ohio State’s Hanson named 2011 AVCA National Coach of the Year”

Comments are closed.